Grammys 2024: Afrobeats Missed Out As Taylor Swift, Miley Cyrus Took Album and Song of The Year

After the glamorous event took place at the Arena in Los Angeles, United States of America, the 66th Grammy Awards was a show of spectacle as Afrobeats went missing on that historic night of February 4th, 2024.

It was a ‘black Monday’ in Nigeria as many music lovers looked out for their (favs) to bring back home the Grammys, especially for those who just got their first nominations, the likes of Davido and Asake. Fans were so disappointed to the extent of reporting Grammys page on social media as a way of showing their frustration to what they term partiality.

No Nigerian act clinched their category which now left music creators surprised with the many major hits from Nigeria in 2023!

Social commentators and influencers also spoke up about the credibility of the Awards dwindling.. the likes of Daniel Regha, who was very disappointed about the South African youngster who took the plaque from Nigeria.

Here are the 2024 Grammys winners and nominees:

Best pop solo performance

Miley Cyrus, “Flowers” — Winner
Doja Cat, “Paint the Town Red”
Billie Eilish,”What Was I Made For?”
Taylor Swift, “Anti-Hero”
Olivia Rodrigo, “Vampire”
Best música urbana album
Karol G, “Mañana Será Bonito” — Winner
Rauw Alejandro, “Saturno”
Tainy, “Data”

Best country album

Lainey Wilson, “Bell Bottom Country” — Winner
Kelsea Ballerini, “Rolling Up the Welcome Mat”
Brothers Osborne, “Brothers Osborne”
Zach Bryan, “Zach Bryan”
Tyler Childers, “Rustin’ in the Rain”

Best R&B song

SZA, “Snooze” — Winner
Victoria Monét, “On My Mama”
Coco Jones, “ICU”
Robert Glasper Featuring SiR & Alex Isley, “Back to Love”
Halle, “Angel”
Best pop vocal album
Taylor Swift, “Midnights” — Winner
Kelly Clarkson, “chemistry”
Miley Cyrus, “Endless Summer Vacation”
Olivia Rodrigo, “GUTS”
Ed Sheeran, “- (Subtract)”

Song of the year

“What Was I Made For?” (from the motion picture “Barbie”) – Billie Eilish O’Connell & Finneas O’Connell, songwriters (Billie Eilish) — Winner
“A&W” – Jack Antonoff, Lana Del Rey & Sam Dew, songwriters (Lana Del Rey)
“Anti-Hero” – Jack Antonoff & Taylor Swift, songwriters (Taylor Swift)
“Butterfly” – Jon Batiste & Dan Wilson, songwriters (Jon Batiste)
“Dance the Night” (from “Barbie The Album”) – Caroline Ailin, Dua Lipa, Mark Ronson & Andrew Wyatt, songwriters (Dua Lipa)
“Flowers” – Miley Cyrus, Gregory Aldae Hein & Michael Pollack, songwriters (Miley Cyrus)
“Kill Bill” – Rob Bisel, Carter Lang & Solána Rowe, songwriters (SZA)
“vampire” – Daniel Nigro & Olivia Rodrigo, songwriters (Oliva Rodrigo)

Best new artist

Victoria Monét — Winner
Gracie Abrams
Fred again..
Ice Spice
Jelly Roll
Coco Jones
Noah Kahan
The War and Treaty

Record of the year

“Flowers” – Miley Cyrus — Winner
“Worship” – Jon Batiste
“Not Strong Enough” – boygenius
“What Was I Made For?” [from the motion picture “Barbie”] – Billie Eilish
“On My Mama” – Victoria Monét
“vampire” – Olivia Rodrigo
“Anti-Hero” – Taylor Swift
“Kill Bill” – SZA

Album of the year

“Midnights,” Taylor Swift — Winner
“World Music Radio,” Jon Batiste
“the record,” boygenius
“Endless Summer Vacation,” Miley Cyrus
“Did you know that there’s a tunnel under Ocean Blvd,” Lana Del Rey
“The Age of Pleasure,” Janelle Monáe
“GUTS,” Olivia Rodrigo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button