Akwa United Are The Champions Of 2020/2021 Nigerian Professional League (NPFL) Season

Akwa United have been crowned champions of the 2020/2021 Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) season, following their 5-2 win over MFM FC on Sunday in Uyo the state capital of Akwai Ibom.

The Promise Keepers have secured the title with one match left.
Charles Atshimene scored a hat-trick as the hosts sealed the victory in their home soil.
The thrilling game sealed Akwa United’s position at the top of the NPFL table with 71 points in 37 matches and still have one to go..
They are now nine points ahead of second-placed Nasarawa United, who will play Enugu Rangers on Monday.
The triumph secured the Promise Keepers’ first-ever top-flight crown in their 25-year history and it is added to their trophy cabinet which has two FA Cups (2015 and 2017) and the Nigeria Super Cup (2016).

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button